President Bush and President Obama Become Honorary Co-Chairs of Commission on Presidential Debates

Sep 10, 2019


The co-chairs of the non-partisan Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD), Frank J. Fahrenkopf, Jr., and Dorothy Ridings, today announced that President George W. Bush and President Barack Obama have agreed to become honorary co-chairs of the CPD. “Over the years, the honorary co-chairs’ affiliation with the CPD has symbolized the historic, unbroken record of debates since 1976. We are very grateful to President Bush and President Obama for their willingness to join the CPD in these honorary positions as we plan for 2020,” Fahrenkopf and Ridings said.

President Bush participated in the 2000 and 2004 presidential debates and President Obama participated in the 2008 and 2012 presidential debates. The podium that President Bush used is now at his library where it will be used for educational programs; President Obama’s podium will be offered to his presidential center when the center is completed.

The CPD was established in 1987 and has sponsored and produced all general election presidential and vice presidential debates since then. It is a non-partisan, non-profit 501(c)(3) organization based in Washington, D.C. The CPD receives no funding from the government or any political party or campaign.